The Fourth Reich (South Africa: 1990)


Manie Van Rensburg

Cast list

Marius Weyers ...
Jan Taillard
Ryno Hattingh ...
Robey Leibbrandt
Grethe Fox ...
Erna Dorfman
Percy Sieff ...
Louis Esselen
Elize Cawood ...
Romy Taillard
Pierre Knoesen ...
Dice Lotter
Ian Roberts ...
Johannes van der Walt
Marcel van Heerden ...
Hendrik Erasmus
Louis van Niekerk ...
General Smuts
James Borthwick ...
Sidney Cohen

Full cast list


Produced by

Gert Basson ... executive producer
Pierre Hinch ... line producer
Mark Jaffee ... executive producer
Malcolm Kohll ... associate producer
David Selvan ... executive producer / producer
Bill Shapter ... associate producer
Reg Wessels ... executive producer

Music by

Rexleigh Bunyard
Louis van Rensburg

Cinematography by

Dewald Aukema

Film Editing by

Nena Olwage

Art Direction by

Patrick Cox
Marlene Prinsloo
Cynthia Schumacher

Makeup Department

Gale Shepherd ... makeup artist and hair stylist


This film is designed to be like a thriller. It is about a policeman who is working undercover to expose and capture a fascist character before he carries out his plan. This fascist character is trying to assassinate a general. The film is riddled with betrayal and various other forms of deception.


Botha, Martin. "The Cinema of Manie Van Rensburg." Kinema (online journal).

Academic Articles:

Botha, Martin P. “Current film policy in South Africa: the establishment of the National Film and Video Foundation of South Africa and its role in the development of a post-apartheid film industry.” Communicatio: South African Journal for Communication Theory and Research. 29.1-2, 2003, pp. 182-198.

Marx, Lesley. “For Queen and Country: ‘The Fourth Reich’ and the Great Betrayal.” South African Theatre Journal, 5.1, 1991, pp. 61-73.